MU E-Mail Login Give to MU MU Blackboard Login MU QEP MU on Facebook MU on Twitter MU on YouTube MU Publications on Issuu MU Photosets on Flickr

 » About Our Office

 » Giving Forms

 » Campaigns

 » Boards

 » Related Links

MU Home » Institutional Advancement

Foundation Board


Since 1956, the Methodist University Foundation has been a part of the Fayetteville Community. Began by county leaders with an eye to the future, the Foundation was formed to bring Methodist University to Fayetteville. The original Board of Directors pledged to provide two million dollars for capital construction and deeded to the College 577 acres of land for the campus. The Foundation also pledged an annual contribution of $50,000 toward the operating budget.

The Foundation Board is made up of business owners and community leaders from all walks of life in Cumberland County. Its diversity is maintained through term limits. Several members now are "second generation" members, with one parent or the other having served on the board in years past. Approximately 550 community leaders have served on the Board of the Methodist University Foundation over the 40 years it has existed. Literally thousands of community citizens have served as Loyalty Day volunteers for the annual fundraising event each February. This demonstrates the deep commitment of the people of Cumberland County to the success of Methodist University.

Beginning in 2005, 100% of all monies donated through Loyalty Day are designated for student Scholarships. Methodist University realizes the importance of investing in our students and commits over eight million dollars of institutional funds annually for scholarships. Over 85 percent of Methodist University students receive financial assistance, and we rely on the continued generosity of donors like you to help us continue this invaluable investment.

Foundation Board Members

2015 Loyalty Day Chairman: Tim Richardson, First Citizen's Bank
President: Linda Goff, Morgan Stanley
Vice-President: Keith Tilghman, Merrill Lynch
Executive Committee Member: Germaine Bowles, Community Volunteer
Executive Committee Member:  Jo Beth Johnson, Community Volunteer
Immediate Past President: Louis Feraca, U.S. Logoworks
Board Advisor: Stephen Driggers '76, Systel

Frank Barragan, Retired; Branch, Bank & Trust
Bill Bowman, Up & Coming Weekly
Eddie Bray, First Citizen’s Bank & Trust
Randy Bullard '76, Morgan Stanley
Adam Collier, Fairfield Inn & Suites
John Elliott, Select Bank & Trust
J. Duane Gilliam, Jr., Gilliam Law Firm
Pat Howell, Quality Concrete Co. Inc.
Chase Mitchell, Branch, Bank & Trust
Jim Pittman, FastSigns
Tim Price '91, LaFayette Ford - Lincoln
Lena Scott, Retired; Cumberland County Schools
Barbara Smith, Daly Seven Hotels
Kathy Verkuilen, Community Volunteer