MU E-Mail Login Give to MU MU Blackboard Login MU QEP MU on Facebook MU on Twitter MU on YouTube MU Publications on Issuu MU Photosets on Flickr

 » About Fraternity & Sorority      Life

 » Fraternities

 » Sororities

 » Related Links

MU Home » Student Affairs » Fraternity and Sorority Life

Alpha Kappa Alpha

President: Chare Perkins
Vice-President: Jada Aponte
Treasurer: Shawntavia Odom
Corresponding Secretary: Amber Bayton

Colors: Salmon Pink and Apple Green
Official Flower: Pink Tea Rose
Symbol: Ivy Leaf

Mission: To cultivate and encourage high scholastics and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship among college women, to study and alleviate problems concerning girls and women in order to improve their social stature, to maintain a progressive interest in college life, and to be of service to all mankind.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. was founded January 15th, 1908 on the campus of Howard University. Alpha Kappa Alpha was the first Greek organization founded by women of color. Ethel Hedgeman Lyle, along with 19 other founders, founded the organization in order to heighten the college experience of colored women.

The Tau Psi Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. was chartered on the campus of Methodist University, on April 20th, 2014. The following young ladies are charter members:

  • Jada Aponte
  • Amber Bayton
  • Brianna E. Beck
  • Arshay Grant
  • Sparkle Irby
  • Chenoa Nixon
  • Shawntavia Odom
  • Chare Perkins
  • Tashara Robinson
  • Erica Williams
  • Jaylynne Williams
  • Sheena Williams

Tau Psi Chapter Facebook

Tau Psi Chapter Twitter

Graduate Chapter - Upsilon Kappa Omega