MU E-Mail Login Give to MU MU Blackboard Login MU QEP MU on Facebook MU on Twitter MU on YouTube MU Publications on Issuu MU Photosets on Flickr

 » About the Symposium

 » Related Links

MU Home » Academics » Southern Writers Symposium

The 24th Southern Writers Symposium:
February 21-22, 2014

Created in 1982, the Methodist University Southern Writers Symposium is designed to encourage scholarship on southern literature and culture, as well as to celebrate the writings of contemporary southern authors.

The next Symposium will be held on February 21-22, 2014. Guidelines for the Emerging Writers Contest are posted below, and additional information will be posted as it becomes available.

For more information, contact Brenda Jernigan at (910) 630-7454 or

 Register Now!

Click here for our Schedule and to Register by Check!

The 24th Southern Writers Symposium Emerging Writers Contest

Poetry Finalists and Winners

"The Dare" by Connie Green (3rd place)
"The Jetty" by Austin Wilson
"Lacuna" by M. E. MacFarland (1st place)
"Lake Cheston" by Maggie Blake
"Mixed Metaphor" by Ben Wright
"Trembling Earth" by Austin Wilson (2nd place)

Fiction Finalists and Winners

"Frida and Jackie" by Maggie Morgan (2nd place)
"The Headless Wonder" by H.M. Patterson (1st place)
"Knight in Shining Armor" by Art Taylor
"Nailing It" by Carolyn Cone Weaver
"Once Upon a Tantrum" by A.K. Benninghofen
"Out of Kindness, I Suppose" by Brian Seemann (3rd place)

The 24th Southern Writers Symposium Sandhills Young Writers Contest