Methodist University Announces 2017 Faculty Award Recipients

Four Methodist University faculty members recently received honors and awards. The award winners were recognized at the University’s annual commencement dinner on May 5 in Davis Memorial Library.

“I am proud of our accomplished faculty who are true scholars and teachers, who excel in the classroom, who care for our students, and who enjoy research and produce creative works,” said Dr. Delmas Crisp, University Provost. “Our students feel the same way about them, too.”

Dr. Kyrstin Krist, associate professor of physical education and exercise science, received the Exemplary Teacher Award from the General Board of Higher Education Ministry of the United Methodist Church. The award is given to a teacher or professor who exemplifies excellence in teaching, civility and concern for students and colleagues, commitment to values-centered education and service to students, the teacher’s institution, and the community.

Dr. Krist received her Bachelor of Science from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, her master’s degree from Springfield College, and her doctoral degree from the University of South Carolina.

Dr. Scott Marosek, associate professor of music, was given the Methodist University Distinguished Professor of the Year Award. The winner is selected from full-time faculty members who have made a distinct difference in the teaching climate at the University.

Dr. Marosek received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in music from the University of Missouri at Kansas City, and his doctoral degree from the University of North Texas.

Robin Greene, professor of English and writing, received the Alfred E. Cleveland Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award is the highest teaching award sponsored by Methodist University. The winner has to have completed three full academic years of full-time teaching at Methodist University and is awarded based on his or her knowledge, method of instruction, rapport with students and fellow instructors, teaching behavior and attitude, concern for teaching, a stimulating classroom environment, student achievements and loyalty to the University.

Greene received her Bachelor of Arts from the University of Bridgeport and master’s degrees from State University of New York at Binghamton and Norwich University.

Lastly, Dr. Christopher Cronin, associate professor of political science, received the President’s Award for Excellence in Research and Creative Expression. The award winner is chosen from a committee comprised of the University’s president, provost, the associate vice president for academic affairs and the previous recipient. The winner is a faculty member who has excelled in any form of research or creativity.

Dr. Cronin received his Bachelor of Arts from Saint Michael’s College and his master’s and doctoral degrees from the University of Massachusetts.