Methodist University Announces Fifth Class of Wright Scholars

Methodist University announces the latest recipients of the Wright Scholarship, funded by a $5 million endowment from Dr. Harvey T. Wright II ’70 and his wife, Mary Fermanides Wright ’68. The full-tuition scholarships provided by this fund benefit five new students each year.

The students selected for the fifth class of Wright Scholars are:

  • Maria Choi, Fayetteville, N.C. – Home School
  • Kaitlin Coltharp, Fayetteville, N.C. – Jack Britt High School
  • Macrae Conrad, New Holland, Ohio – Westfall High School
  • Alisyn Keating, Mooresville, N.C. – Mooresville Senior High School
  • Madeline Yeung, Garner, N.C. – Longleaf School of the Arts

“The Wright Scholars Program is a distinguished merit program for students who demonstrate high academic achievement, strong leadership qualities, commitment to community service, and good citizenship,” said Jamie Legg, Dean of Admissions at Methodist University. “This scholarship is the most prestigious academic honor for incoming Methodist University freshmen. Every student who applied for this scholarship is an outstanding example of the type of student that we hope to enroll at Methodist University, but these five students really embody the characteristics that the Wright Scholars Program strives to recognize.”

Ninety-eight students applied for these prestigious awards. The five Wright Scholars had an average GPA of 4.52, an average ACT score of 32, and an average Critical Reading and Math SAT score of 1350. Finalists received $2,000 per year through the program. On top of these awards, the University also awarded each of the finalists and semifinalists a Presidential Scholarship worth between $13,250 and $23,250 per year.