Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

The 2017-2018 Academic Year

At the discretion of the University, changes may be made to the following.

Fall 2017

August

Monday 14 New Faculty orientation begins
Wednesday 16 August Faculty Meeting
Thursday 17 Faculty Workshop
Thursday 17-20 New Student Orientation
Saturday 19 Returning students arrive
Monday 21 Classes Begin; Drop/Add Period begins
Friday 25 Opening Convocation at 11:00 a.m.
Monday 28 Academic Advisor Consultation at 11:00 a.m.
Tuesday 29 Last day to ADD a class or DROP a class without record

September

Monday 4 Labor Day Holiday (no classes)
Monday 18 Last day to submit "Intent to Graduate" forms for May 2018 graduation

October

Friday 13 Midterm grades due in the Office of the Registrar by 5:00 p.m.
Saturday-Tuesday 14-17 Fall X-Term for Experiential Learning Opportunities including Study Abroad
Monday-Tuesday 16-17 Fall Break
Monday-Friday 23-27 Advising Week
Monday 23 Academic Advisor Consultation at 11:00 a.m.
    Evening Student Early Registration Begins
Friday - Saturday 27-28 Homecoming & Parents Weekend
Monday 30 Senior Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Tuesday 31 Junior Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.

November

Wednesday 1 Sophomore Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Thursday 2 Freshman Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Friday 3 Evening-to-Day Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Friday 10 Veterans Day Holiday (no class)
Monday 13 Evening Course Registration for Day Students begins at 7 a.m.
Monday 20 Last day to drop a class with WP or WF
Wednesday-Sunday 22-26 Thanksgiving Holiday

December

Wednesday 6 Last day of classes
Thursday-Thursday 7-14 Final Examinations
Monday 11 Senior grades due to the Registrar by 1:00 p.m.
Saturday 16 Commencement Ceremony
Monday 18 Final grades due
Semester Break Dec. 15-Jan. 7 Winter X-Term for Experiential Learning Opportunities including Study Abroad

MU at Night Autumn Term I

Monday Aug. 21 Classes begin
Friday Aug. 25 Last day to add/drop without record (Evening)
Friday Sep. 1 Last day to add/drop without record (Weekend)
Monday-Tuesday Sept. 4-5 Labor Day Holiday
Friday Oct. 6 Last day to WP/WF
Wednesday-Saturday Oct. 11-14 Final Exams
Monday Oct. 16 Final Grades Due

MU at Night Autumn Term II

Monday Oct. 23 Classes begin
    Evening Student Early Registration begins
Friday Oct. 27 Last day to add/drop without record (Evening)
Friday Nov. 3 Last day to add/drop without record (Weekend)
    Evening-to-Day Early Registration begins
Friday Nov. 10 Veterans Day Holiday
Wednesday-Thursday Nov. 23-24 Thanksgiving Holiday
Friday Dec. 8 Last day to WP/WF
Monday Dec. 11 Senior Grades Due
Wednesday-Saturday Dec. 13-16 Final Exams
Monday Dec. 18 Final Grades Due

MU e-Learning Autumn Term

Monday Aug. 21 Classes begin
Tuesday Aug. 29 Last day to add/drop without record
Monday Sept. 4 Labor Day Holiday
Monday-Tuesday Oct. 16-17 Fall Break
Friday Nov. 10 Veterans Day Holiday
Monday Nov. 20 Last day to WP/WF
Wednesday-Sunday Nov. 22-26 Thanksgiving Holiday
Wednesday Dec. 6 Last day of class
Thursday-Thursday Dec. 7-14 Final Exams
Monday Dec. 11 Senior grades due
Monday Dec. 18 Final Grades Due

Spring 2018

January

Sunday 7 Students arrive/Orientation
Monday 8 All Classes and Drop/Add Period begin
Friday 12 Advisor Meeting at 11:00 a.m.
Monday 15 Martin Luther King Day holiday (no classes)
Tuesday 16 Last day to ADD a class or DROP a class without record

February

Monday 5 Spring Convocation

March

Friday 2 Midterm grades due
Saturday-Sunday 3-11 Spring X-Term for Experiential Learning Opportunities including Study Abroad
Monday-Friday 5-9 Spring Break
Monday-Friday 19-23 Advising Week
Monday 19 Academic Advising Consultation at 11:00 a.m.
    Evening Student Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Monday 26 Senior Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
    Summer Course Early Registration begins at 7 a.m. (all students)
Tuesday 27 Junior Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Wednesday 28 Sophomore Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Thursday 29 Freshman Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Friday 30 Good Friday Holiday (no classes)

April

Monday 2 Evening-to-Day Student Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Monday 9 "Intent to Graduate" forms for December 2018 graduation Due
    Evening Course Registration begins for Day Students at 7 a.m.
Monday-Friday 9-13 Undergraduate Research Symposium
Wednesday 11 Awards Day
Monday 16 Last day to drop a class with WP or WF
Wednesday 25 Last day of day classes
Thursday-Thursday 26-May 3 Final Examinations
Monday 30 Senior grades due to the Registrar by 1:00 p.m.

May

Saturday 5 Commencement Ceremony
Monday 7 Final grades due

MU at Night Spring Term I

Monday Jan. 8 Classes begin
Friday Jan. 12 Last day to add/drop without record (Evening)
Monday-Tuesday Jan. 15-16 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Holiday
Friday Jan. 19 Last day to add/drop without record (Weekend)
Friday Feb. 23 Last day to WP/WF
Wednesday-Saturday Feb. 28-Mar. 3 Final Exams
Monday Mar. 5 Final Grades Due

MU at Night Spring Term II

Monday Mar. 12 Classes begin
Friday Mar. 16 Last day to add/drop without record (Evening)
Monday Mar. 19 Evening Student Early Registration begins
Friday Mar. 23 Last day to add/drop without record (Weekend)
Monday Apr. 2 Evening-to-Day Student Registration begins
Thursday-Monday Mar. 29-Apr. 2 Easter Holiday
Friday Apr. 27 Last day to WP/WF
Wednesday-Saturday May 2-5 Final Exams
Monday Apr. 30 Senior grades (Day and Evening) due
Monday May 7 Final Grades Due

MU e-Learning Spring Term

Monday Jan. 8 Classes begin
Monday Jan. 15 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Holiday
Tuesday Jan. 16 Last day to add/drop without record
Monday-Friday Mar. 5-9 Spring Break
Friday Mar. 30 Good Friday Holiday
Monday Apr. 16 Last day to WP/WF
Wednesday Apr. 25 Last day of classes
Wednesday-Thursday Apr. 26- May 3 Final Exams
Monday Apr. 30 Senior grades due
Saturday May 5 Graduation Day
Monday May 7 Final Grades Due

Summer 2018

Summer Day Term I

Summer X-Term May 14-Jun. 8 Experiential Learning, including Study Abroad Opportunities
     
Monday May 14 Classes begin
Tuesday May 15 Last day to add/drop without record
Monday May 28 Memorial Day Holiday
Wednesday Jun. 6 Last day to WP/WF
Friday Jun. 8 Last day of classes, Final Exams
Monday Jun. 11 Final Grades (Term I) Due

Summer Day Term II

Monday Jun. 11 Classes begin
Tuesday Jun. 12 Last day to add/drop without record
Tuesday Jul. 3 Last day to WP/WF
Wednesday Jul. 4 Independence Day Holiday
Friday Jul. 6 Last day of classes, Final Exams
Monday Jul. 9 Final Grades (Term II) Due

Summer Day Term III (Reserved for Special Programs)

Monday Jul. 9 Classes begin
Tuesday Jul. 10 Last day to add/drop without record
Wednesday Aug. 1 Last day to WP/WF
Friday Aug. 3 Last day of classes
Monday Aug. 6 Final Grades (Term III) Due

Summer Evening Term IV

Monday May 14 Classes begin
Friday May 18 Last day to add/drop without record (Evening)
Friday May 25 Last day to add/drop without record (Weekend)
Monday-Tuesday May 28-29 Memorial Day Holiday
Wednesday Jun. 27 Last day to WP/WF
Wednesday Jul. 4 Independence Day Holiday
Monday-Saturday Jul. 2-7 Final Exams
Monday Jul. 9 Final Grades (Term IV) Due

Summer e-Learning Term V

Monday May 14 Classes begin
Friday May 18 Last day to add/drop without record
Monday May 28 Memorial Day Holiday
Wednesday Jul. 4 Independence Day Holiday
Friday Jul. 27 Last day to WP/WF
Friday Aug. 3 Last day of classes
Monday Aug. 6 Final Grades Due (E-Learning Classes)
VIEW MORE

Foreign Film Series: "Ida"

Anna, a young novitiate nun in 1960s Poland, is on the verge of taking her vows when she discovers a dark family secret dating back to the years of the...

Friends of Music presents “From Church to Tango”

Presented by Friends of Music

Alejandro Pinzón is an experienced teaching artist with a quest to inspire others through art...

Professional MBA Program Open House

The Professional MBA Program at Methodist University focuses on Organizational Management and Leadership, and...