Methodist University campus in the spring

Academic Calendar

Campus Undergraduate Programs

The 2022-2023 Academic Year

At the discretion of the University, changes may be made to the following.

Fall 2022 Semester (16 Weeks)

August

Monday 1 Tuition & Fees Due for Fall
Friday-Sunday 12-14 New Student Orientation
Saturday 13 Returning Students Arrive
Monday 15 All Classes Begin
Friday 19 Last day to ADD a class or DROP a class without record

September

Monday 5 Labor Day Holiday (no classes)
Monday 12 “Intent to Graduate” forms for May 2023 graduation Due

October

Friday 7 Midterm grades due
Monday-Tuesday 10-11 Fall Break
Monday 24 Senior Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Tuesday 25 Junior Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Wednesday 26 Sophomore Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Thursday 27 Freshman Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.

November

Friday 11 Veterans Day Holiday (no classes)
Monday 14 Last day to Withdraw from a Class
Wednesday-Sunday 23-27 Thanksgiving Holiday (no classes)
Tuesday 29 Last Day of Classes
Wednesday 30 Reading Day (no classes)

December

Thursday-Thursday 1-8 Final Exams
Friday 9 Baccalaureate Service
Saturday 10 Commencement Ceremony
Monday 12 Final grades due

Fall Subterm I (8 weeks)

Wednesday Aug. 15 Classes begin
Friday Aug. 19 Last day to add/drop without record (Weekday Classes)
Friday Aug. 26 Last day to add/drop without record (Weekend Classes)
Friday Sept. 30 Last day to Withdraw from a Class
Wednesday-Saturday Oct. 5-8 Final Exams
Monday Oct. 10 Final Grades Due

Fall Subterm II (8 weeks)

Monday Oct. 17 Classes begin
Friday Oct. 21 Last day to add/drop without record (Weekday Classes)
Friday Oct. 28 Last day to add/drop without record (Weekend Classes)
Friday Nov. 11 Veterans Day Holiday (no classes)
Wednesday-Sunday Nov. 23-27 Thanksgiving Holiday (no classes)
Friday Dec. 2 Last Day to Withdraw from a Class
Wednesday-Saturday Dec. 7-10 Final Exams
Friday Dec. 9 Baccalaureate Service
Saturday Dec. 10 Commencement Ceremony
Monday Dec. 11 Final Grades Due

Spring 2023 Semester (16 Weeks)

January

Sunday 8 Students Arrive/Orientation
Monday 9 All Classes Begin
Friday 13 Last day to ADD a class or DROP a class without record for Undergraduate Classes
Monday 16 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Holiday (no classes)

March

Friday 3 Midterm grades due
Monday-Friday 6-10 Spring Break
Monday 27 Senior Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Summer Course Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Tuesday 28 Junior Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Wednesday 29 Sophomore Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.
Thursday 30 Freshman Early Registration begins at 7 a.m.

April

Friday 7 Good Friday Holiday (no classes)
Monday-Friday 10-14 Research & Creativity Week
Monday 10 “Intent to Graduate” forms for December 2023 graduation Due
Wednesday 12 Research & Creativity Symposium and Awards Day
Monday 17 Last day to Withdraw from a Class
Tuesday 25 Last Day of Classes
Wednesday 26 Reading Day (no classes)
Thursday-Thursday 27-May 4 Final Exams

May

Friday 5 Baccalaureate Service
Saturday 6 Commencement Ceremony
Monday 8 Final grades due

Spring Subterm I (8 weeks)

Wednesday Jan. 9 Classes begin
Friday Jan. 13 Last day to add/drop without record (Weekday Classes)
Monday-Tuesday Jan. 16-17 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Holiday (no classes)
Friday Jan. 20 Last day to add/drop without record (Weekend Classes)
Friday Feb. 24 Last day to Withdraw from a Class
Wednesday-Saturday Mar. 1-4 Final Exams
Monday Mar. 6 Final Grades Due

Spring Subterm II (8 weeks)

Monday Mar. 13 Classes begin
Friday Mar. 17 Last day to add/drop without record (Weekday Classes)
Friday Mar. 24 Last day to add/drop without record (Weekend Classes)
Thursday-Monday Apr. 6-10 Easter Holiday (no classes)
Friday Apr. 28 Last Day to Withdraw from a Class
Wednesday-Saturday May 3-6 Final Exams
Friday May 5 Baccalaureate Service
Saturday May 6 Commencement Ceremony
Monday May 8 Final Grades Due

Summer 2023 Sessions

Summer Session I (4 weeks)

Monday May 15 Classes begin
Tuesday May 16 Last day to add/drop without record
Monday May 29 Memorial Day Holiday (no classes)
Wednesday Jun. 7 Last day to Withdraw from a Class
Friday Jun. 9 Last day of classes, Final Exams
Monday Jun. 12 Final Grades (Term I) Due

Summer Session II (4 weeks)

Monday Jun. 12 Classes begin
Tuesday Jun. 13 Last day to add/drop without record
Monday Jun. 19 Juneteenth Holiday (no classes)
Tuesday Jul. 4 Independence Day Holiday (no classes)
Wednesday Jul. 5 Last day to Withdraw from a Class
Saturday Jul. 8 Last day of classes, Final Exams
Monday Jul. 10 Final Grades (Term II) Due

Summer Session III (4 weeks)

Monday Jul. 10 Classes begin
Tuesday Jul. 11 Last day to add/drop without record
Wednesday Aug. 2 Last day to Withdraw from a Class
Friday Aug. 4 Last day of classes
Monday Aug. 7 Final Grades (Term III) Due

Summer Session IV (8 weeks)

Monday May 15 Classes begin
Friday May 19 Last day to add/drop without record (Weekday Classes)
Friday May 26 Last day to add/drop without record (Weekend Classes)
Monday-Tuesday May 29-30 Memorial Day Holiday (no classes)
Monday Jun. 19 Juneteenth Holiday (no classes)
Wednesday Jun. 30 Last day to Withdraw from a Class
Wednesday-Saturday Jul. 5-8 Final Exams
Monday Jul. 10 Final Grades (Term IV) Due

Summer Day Term V (12 weeks)

Monday May 15 Classes begin
Friday May 19 Last day to add/drop without record
Monday-Tuesday May 29-30 Memorial Day Holiday (no classes)
Monday Jun. 19 Juneteenth Holiday (no classes)
Friday Jul. 28 Last day to Withdraw from a Class
Friday Aug. 4 Last day of classes
Monday Aug. 7 Final Grades Due
Saturday Aug. 26 Summer Degree Conferral Date