About the Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate of Methodist University is recognized as an officially sanctioned body within the governance structure of the University. The Faculty Senate embodies the principles of shared governance and is guided by the collective will and expertise of the Faculty. The Senate empowers the Faculty to provide authoritative communication and collaboration with the President, the Provost, and other academic officers of the University regarding policies and practices pertaining to academic standards, academic excellence, and the professional responsibilities of the Faculty. The Faculty Senate is the principal body for deliberations, formulations, and recommendations concerning the curriculum and academic policy at the University as a means of enhancing the education of all Methodist University students.

The values guiding the Faculty Senate include transparency, collaboration, accountability, ethical behavior, leadership, voice, representation, candor, and honesty. The Senate also values the University’s mission and vision. Collectively these values are to guide all Senators.

Senate Executive Committee

Chair: Cameron Dodworth
Vice Chair: Mark Regensberger
Secretary: Kelly Walter Carney
College Representative: Matthew Foreman
At-Large Representative: Jie Zhou


College of Arts, Humanities & Sciences

Cameron Dodworth, English
Victoria Houser, Composition & Rhetoric
Patrick O’Neil, History
Kevin Swift, Mass Communications
Kelly Walter Carney, English

College of Business, Technology & Professional Studies

Denise Bauer, Engineering
Matt Dobra, Reeves School of Business
Cecilia Ducloz, Mathematics
Robert Gmeiner, Reeves School of Business
Mark Regensburger, Reeves School of Business

College of Health Sciences & Human Services

Matt Foreman, Occupational Therapy
Tom Johnston, Nursing
Kyrstin Krist, Kinesiology
Greg Stewart, Kinesiology

Faculty At-Large

Ragan Glover-Rijkse, Applied Communication
Yihe Guo, Biology
Eun Hoo Kim, Chemistry
Rob McCandless, Biology
Jennifer Taft, Davis Memorial Library
Jie Zhou, Mathematics