Founders Council

The Founders Council originated July 1, 2021, after a merge of the Foundation Board and the Board of Visitors. The group exists to aid, foster, and promote the growth, progress and general welfare of Methodist University, Cumberland County, North Carolina; and in particular, to promote and provide resources and financial support for the University. It stems from a tradition of local support older than the school itself. Before the then-named Methodist College opened in 1960, community leaders gathered pledges and donations from the local community for a small, private, liberal arts college to be built in Fayetteville. In 1956, the Fayetteville College Foundation pledged to raise an annual contribution of $50,000.

Council members are individuals who believe in Methodist University and are willing to support and advance the mission of the University.

Founders Council Tennis & Golf Pro-Am Tournaments

The Founders Council hosts an annual golf and tennis tournament on campus. This event is the once-a-year opportunity for the public to play Methodist University’s distinguished, private tennis courts and golf course. We invite you to spend the day on our beautiful campus with MU students and experience tournaments like none other in our area.

Founders Council Members (2022-23)


  •     Wyatt Jenkins, President
  •     Juelle McDonald, Vice President
  •     Sandee Gronowski, Immediate Past President

Executive Committee (includes positions above):

  •     Myers Coggin
  •     Nicole Stiff
  •     Sarah Tilghman
  •     Kim Thomas

Class of 2022

  • *Myers Coggin – Stay-at-home dad
  • *Kevin Coleman – Cumberland County Schools
  • *Mitch Guy – Southern Trust Mortgage
  • *Tara Hinton – ServiceSource
  • Nicole Stiff – PWC

Class of 2023

  • *Al Aycock – Corvias
  • *Kevin Bunn – First Bank
  • *Sandee Gronowski – First Citizens Bank
  • *Gene Hallock ’98 – Department of Public Safety
  • Katy Lolis – Beasley Media Group
  • *Juelle McDonald – Pine Forest High School
  • Jack McGinley – BB&T
  • *Davis Puryear – Hutchens Law Firm
  • *Greg Reames – Dogwood State Bank
  • Zach St. Peter – US Logoworks
  • *Sarah Tilghman – Community Volunteer
  • *Max Weinstein – Raymond James
  • *Luke Wheeler – Holmes Security Systems

Class of 2024

  • *Jamie Ammons ’17 – Cumberland County Clerk of Court
  • *Summer Berry – BC Sales Group
  • Kevin Dennison ’95 – Carolina Snoballs
  • *Ryan Johnson – Goosehead Insurance
  • Chaka Jordan – Cape Fear Valley Medical Center
  • *Michael Koonce – John Allen Shoes
  • Michael Leechford  Powers-Swain Chevrolet
  • *Chip Lewis – Lewis Family Dentistry
  • Philip Mullen ’74 – Retired
  • Alex Townsend –Townsend Real Estate

* Serving a second three-year term