Foundation Board


Since 1956, the Methodist University Foundation has been a part of the Fayetteville Community. Began by county leaders with an eye to the future, the Foundation was formed to bring Methodist University to Fayetteville. The original Board of Directors pledged to provide two million dollars for capital construction and deeded to the College 577 acres of land for the campus. The Foundation also pledged an annual contribution of $50,000 toward the operating budget.

The Foundation Board is made up of business owners and community leaders from all walks of life in Cumberland County. Its diversity is maintained through term limits. Several members now are “second generation” members, with one parent or the other having served on the board in years past. Approximately 550 community leaders have served on the Board of the Methodist University Foundation over the 40 years it has existed. Literally thousands of community citizens have served as Loyalty Day volunteers for the annual fundraising event each February. This demonstrates the deep commitment of the people of Cumberland County to the success of Methodist University.

Beginning in 2005, 100% of all monies donated through Loyalty Day are designated for student Scholarships. Methodist University realizes the importance of investing in our students and commits over eight million dollars of institutional funds annually for scholarships. Over 85 percent of Methodist University students receive financial assistance, and we rely on the continued generosity of donors like you to help us continue this invaluable investment.

Foundation Board Members (2019-20)


  • Wyatt Jenkins, President
  • Sandee Gronowski, Vice President
  • Terry Sasser, Immediate Past President

Executive Committee (includes positions above):

  • Dave Allred
  • Jared Ostendorf
  • Sarah Tilghman

Class of 2022

  • Myers Coggin – Stay-at-home dad
  • *Nona Fisher – Bottom Line Accounting
  • LeRoy Hodges – QwikMed Pharmacy & Clinic
  • Allie Jannetta – Willow Group Investments
  • *Wyatt Jenkins – Wells Fargo Advisors
  • Michele Jones – Cape Fear Orthopedic Clinic
  • *Wolf Strecker – Beasley Media Group
  • Kim Thomas – Fayetteville Police Department
  • Henry Tyson – Tyson Commercial Real Estate

Class of 2021

  • Dave Allred – ALCOVA Mortgage
  • *Carla Council – Townsend Real Estate
  • Bobby Hurst – Cardinal Landscaping
  • Ryan Johnson – Farm Bureau Insurance
  • Michael Koonce – John Allen Shoes
  • Danice Langdon – BB&T Spring Lake
  • Alissa Melvin – Fayetteville Observer
  • Chase Mitchell – BB&T Ramsey Street
  • **Brandon Phillips – Physician
  • W.C. Powers – Powers Swain Chevrolet

Class of 2020

  • Kevin Bunn – First Bank
  • Sandee Gronowski – PNC Bank
  • Grace McGrath – Community Advocate
  • Jared Ostendorf – International Minute Press
  • Davis Puryear – Hutchens Law Firm
  • Sarah Tilghman – Independent Consultant

Class of 2019

  • Terry Sasser – First National Bank (serving as Immediate Past President)